Posts Categorized: Ask Anzo: Diamond

Hard job, better pay than Micky-D’s…become an umpire

If you can see, have a clue about baseball/softball, are reliable, are mobile enough to get into proper position, and don’t think the game is about you, then Dale Anzo is the guy to contact about becoming a baseball and/or softball umpire for the upcoming season.
No, that’s not how Anzo put it, but it’s every… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Ask Anzo: look back rule for HS softball

Given how the Etna v Quincy softball playoff game ended today, guess we better look at the “Look back” rule. This was originally posted in March, 2012.
Art. 1 The look back rule will be in effect when the ball is live, the batter-runner has touched first base or has been declared out, and… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Ask Anzo: a timing play, not a force play

Last week, Umpire Dale Anzo asked our readers to rule on the following scenario:
The scenario
Bases loaded one out.
Pop fly to the left fielder, who catches the ball.
The runners on 3rd and 2nd tag legally, but the runner on first does not.
Defense throws the ball to first base for a double play.
Runner on third scores before… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Ask Anzo: errant pick off attempt

Last week, Umpire Dale Anzo presented two scenarios involving an errant throw by a pitcher during a pick off attempt at first base. The scenarios apply only to baseball.
Scenario one
Runner on 1st base. The pitcher steps off of the mound and attempts to pick off the runner but throws the ball out of play. Where… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Ask Anzo: runner hit by deflected ball answer

Several days ago, Umpire Dale Anzo posed this question:
1. Runner on first base no one out.
2. Line shot hit back at the pitcher that is deflected off the pitcher and hits the runner between 1st and 2nd.
What if anything do you have?
Answer
The simple answer is the runner is not out and the ball is live… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Ask Anzo: batter interference with the catcher updated

At the Lady Miner Classic in Yreka last weekend there was a situation where there was a runner on first with one out. The runner was attempting to steal second, when the batter interfered with the catcher’s throw. The umpire initially ruled that the batter was out, and returned the runner to first base. Then,… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Ask Anzo: sliding rules

Okay, for the nine millionth time, here are the rules on sliding. Please note that the runner is NEVER SPECIFICALLY REQUIRED TO SLIDE.

According to Anzo:
If you look in the high school baseball or softball rule books, you will never find anywhere in there that a runner has to slide. What it does say is that a… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Ask Anzo: Interference

Interference is judged and penalized several different ways, depending on where the interference occurs and who caused it. There are many different offensive interference situations:
1. batter in the box after a swing
2. batter in the box after a pitch is caught
3. batter in the box after a pitch is missed by the catcher
4. batter out… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Ask Anzo: hit by pitch in softball

This is a rule change concerning being hit by a pitch. It applies only to softball.
Rule 8 Section 1 Art. 2 reads
A batter is awarded first base when:
b: a pitched ball is entirely in the batter’s box and it strikes the batter or her clothing. No attempt to avoid being hit by the pitch… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Ask Anzo: batter interference

Last week, umpire Dale Anzo presented the scenario below, and asked the readers to make the call.. Emerson Bryan, Scott Pynes, and Mitch Eastlick posted pretty much correct answers on the SiskiyouYouth facebook page:
The batter is out.
Rule 6.06(c) He (batter) interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s
box or making… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Anzo thinks this ruling is hard, but not really

Okay, so I get a call from Dale Anzo last night with another baseball/softball rule question for our well versed readers. I’m like, “Why don’t you email it to me?” Apparently Anzo wasn’t able to properly operate his computer at the moment (must have been too sore from standing around). So, I listened and then… Read more »

Share on Facebook

The answer to: Anzo says, “Have fun with this one”

The answer to the scenario outlined below by umpire Dale Anzo is: batter is out, and runner is awarded third base.
The batter being out is obvious. His line drive was caught. Because the defense put the ball out of play, the runner winds up with a free pass for not touching second base in his… Read more »

Share on Facebook

The answer to: batter fails to advance to 1st base

Here is the answer to the question that umpire Dale Anzo asked a few days ago. Jered Ratliff from Etna pretty much nailed it and was the first to answer. Greta Jones from McCloud also did pretty well with her answer.
The question:
1. Bases are loaded.
2. The batter receives ball four.
3. He/she walks half way down… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Anzo and Letendre ump games with former major league players

Photos by Roxann Anzo

Local umpires Dale Anzo and Scott Letendre umpired a series of baseball games between the Chico Heat and Yuma Scorpions last week. The Scorps featured former Oakland Athletics players Jose Conseco and Tony Phillips. You may notice that Philips looks less than thrilled with Anzo in the photo above.
According to Anzo, the… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Part-3 of Runner hit by batted ball Q from Anzo

Here is the final question of Umpire Dale Anzo’s three part question about a runner being hit by a batted ball in fair territory. This part is a bit bizarre but I suppose it could happen.
Question:
There is a runner on third base.
Batter bunts the ball on a squeeze play.
Runner slides into home and is laying… Read more »

Share on Facebook

Part 2 of runner hit by batted ball Q from Anzo

Time’s up. The answer is that the two times a runner can be hit by a batted ball in fair territory and not be called out are: 1. Infield fly–the batter is out, the ball is dead, runner stays at the base he was on when hit. 2. Batted ball is past infielder when the… Read more »

Share on Facebook

First in a series of three Qs from Anzo

Time is up. The correct answer is that the runner is out, even though he’s standing on the base. The ball is dead, and the batter gets first base.
Now umpire Dale Anzo is working a pyramid scheme (not really). Seems he has a series of three related questions, with each one getting tougher to answer…. Read more »

Share on Facebook